Philosophical perspectives on medical knowledge


Philosophical Perspectives on Medical Knowledge

28 May 2019

Department of Classics, Philosophy and History – Philosophy Section
University of Genoa, Italy

INVITED SPEAKER: Miriam Solomon (Temple University)

The one-day workshop Philosophical Perspectives on Medical Knowledge will focus on medical knowledge broadly construed. We seek contributions on the following topics (although other related topics can be considered):

  • Causal Explanation
  • Consensus Conferences
  • Etiological Explanation
  • Evidence in Medicine and Psychiatry
  • Mechanistic Explanation
  • Medical and Psychiatric Classification
  • Narrative Medicine
  • Neurobiological Explanation and Psychiatry
  • Medical model in Psychiatry
  • Social Epistemology and Medicine
  • Translational Medicine

Paper presentations will be 50 minutes including the Q&A.
Submit a short abstract (max. 500 words) by the 1st March 2019. Abstracts are supposed to sketch the main argument of the talks, including conclusions and major implications.
Please submit your abstract to as an email attachment. The email subject shall be “Philosophical Perspectives on Medical Knowledge 2018[SURNAME OF AUTHOR]”.
Please make sure that information on the identity of the authors (name, email address, and affiliation) are not included in the attachment, but only in the body of the email. The attachment should contain a blind version of the abstract for the sake of the double-blind review process. Each abstract will be assigned to two reviewers. Contributions from members of underrepresented groups are especially welcome.
Decision on acceptance for presentation at the workshop will be made by the 20th March 2019.

Organized under the auspices of:
Department of Classics, Philosophy and History, Philosophy Section, University of Genoa
PhilHeaD – Research Center in Philosophy of Health and Disease

Submission deadline: 1st March 2019
Notification on decision: 20th March 2019
Conference date: 28th May 2019

For information please contact:

Scientific Committee
Cristina Amoretti (chair), Elisabetta Lalumera, Marcello Frixione, Davide Serpico

Organizing Committee
Cristina Amoretti, Davide Serpico